Skip to main content
IAABO Board 130
Pardon our appearance as we update

Welcome to Board 130

10th Annual Larry McIntire Board 130 Classic

Monday, Feb. 17, 2020
1 p.– GIRLS consolation -
Revere 40 vs. Peabody 58
2:30 p BOYS – consolation -
Bishop Fenwick 49 vs Masconemet 55
4:15 p.– GIRLS – championship -
Beverly 35 vs Bishop Fenwick 55
6 p – BOYS – championship -
Gloucester 64 vs Beverly 77

Sunday, Feb. 16, 2020
1 p - Bishop Fenwick 39 vs. Peabody 29 (G)
2:30 p – Bishop Fenwick 66 vs. Gloucester 74 (B)
4:15 p – Revere 48 vs. Beverly 70 (G)
6 p – Masconomet 63 vs. Beverly 75  (B)


Quick Member Notes (Updated 16-Mar)

 Login to see the newest updates
Includes information about arbiter and officials vs. cancer, among other Board-specific details

* Banquet has been postponed. More information to come. *

About Us

Board 130 was granted its charter from the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials on Nov. 15, 1951. 

Board 130 consists of more than 400 members who officiate basketball games from the grammar school level to the college level. 

We have active Membership and Development committees who work to ensure that our newer members be given every opportunity to improve their skills and advance their officiating careers.

We hope you find this website informative and helpful.

For more information about Board 130, contact us at

Board 130 Member Information

2019-20 Dues:  Active Member: $105,   Associate Member: $55 (non-working official, at any level of play)

All Active Officials (working at any level) must meet the following criteria to be eligible to officiate:
1. Attend 1 Interpretation Meeting (we hold 3 per year, one in each month of Oct, Nov, Dec)
2. Pay their dues on or before the Dec 8th meeting (please note: email reminders are automated from the website until you have paid)
3. Attend a Refresher Exam meeting (dates listed below) or complete and submit the Refresher Exam (Click link for an electronic copy)
to Dan Bryant via email: or at the Fall Meetings
4. Attend 3 business meetings per year (the Interpretation meeting and the Refresher Exam meeting each count as a Business meeting)

Meeting Dates:
Interpretation Meeting, Sunday, Oct 20th, 10AM North Andover High School

Interpretation Meeting, Wednesday, Nov 13th, 7PM, Salem High School
Interpretation Meeting, Sunday, Dec 8th, 10AM North Andover High School
Business Meeting, Sunday, Jan 12th, 10AM Salem State University

Business Meeting, Sunday, Feb 9th, 10AM, St. John's Prep
Banquet, Oct 20th, 6PM, Danversport Yacht Club  (NEW DATE)

Refresher Exam Dates (click links for directions):
Beverly, Tuesday, December 3rd, 6:30PM Beverly High School Cafe
Lynn, Wednesday, December 4th, 6:30PM, Lynn Housing Authority

Methuen, Thursday, December 5th, 6:30PM, Whirlaway in Methuen

List of Dropped Officials:       2019-20 Dropped Officials List
List of Associate Members (non-working officials at any level of play): 
List of Associate Members for 2019-20

Contact Above the Shoulders (clarification):

For the 2012-13 season the NFHS Rules Committee issued a Point of Emphasis (POE) on contact above the shoulders.  The POE defined illegal contact from a moving elbow where such contact was above the shoulders as being either an intentional foul or a flagrant one.  This guidance regarding these play situations was provided in connection with the continuing emphasis on reducing concussions and decreasing excessive contact situations.  It also helped to bring the results of such plays in high school games more in line with what is defined at the NCAA and pro levels. For more information and examples (click this link)

2019 Mass State IAABO Interpretation Meetings

3 Person Mechanics Presentation (Click this link)


Ejection Forms from MIAA Website: Player Ejection Form       Coach Ejection Form


Concussion Training Link:  Training Link

Elected Officials 2018-2019

Click on the board member's name for direct email


 President:   David Margossian
 Vice President:   Bill Phillips
 Secretary/Treasurer:  Dan Bryant
 Rules Interpreter:  Bill "Boots" Boutilier
 Executive Board Chairman:     Fred Forsgard

 Area Representatives:

Area 1: Paul Halloran
Area 2: Steve Marc-Aurele
Area 3: Rick McKenna
Area 4: Andrew Chaban
Area 5: Mark Friedman
Area 6:  Tim Byrne
At-Large:                                  Pete Dion & Tom Burkinshaw